EP Intergroup “Competitive European industry: Long term & sustainable investment”

Brussels, 22 January 2020

Dear MEP Maria da Graça Carvalho,
Dear MEP Simona Bonafé,
Dear MEP Dominique Riquet,

We are writing to extend our congratulations on your work regarding the approval of the intergroup “Competitive European industry: Long term & sustainable investment”.

The launch of this new intergroup is timely and reflects the twin goals of delivering on the European Green Deal while ensuring Europe continues to have a highly competitive, industrial base.

A long-term, EU Industrial Strategy is at the core of the new European Green Deal.

We believe the role of the European Parliament is vital towards ensuring development of a new Industrial Strategy that will accelerate the investments necessary to achieve the Green Deal’s ambitions, including climate neutrality.

The industrial transformation required to deliver the Green Deal requires Europe to have a strong and competitive industrial base, both in terms of production and investments. This will also be vital in order to drive growth of the European economy and European jobs.

We would support an ambitious Industrial Strategy that secures a level playing field and further development of the European Single Market and stimulates the uptake of targeted investments as the way forward.

Industry is therefore eager to see this Intergroup discuss a forward-looking and ambitious industrial policy strategy to deliver on the Green Deal, with concrete measures to enhance the competitiveness of European industry, incentivise investments and innovation, minimise regulatory burdens, reduce energy costs and improve access to markets and raw materials.

Therefore, we stand ready to concretely contribute to kicking off activities, in close coordination with you.

To that end, we would welcome an opportunity to meet with you and your colleagues in the near future to discuss how our sectors could contribute towards the success of your agenda.

Yours sincerely,

Eric Mark Huitema – Director General ACEA
Paolo Falcioni – Director General APPLiA
Markus Beyrer – Director General BusinessEurope
Riccardo Viaggi – Secretary General CECE
Marco Mensink – Director General Cefic
Jérôme Bandry – Secretary General CEMA
Sigrid de Vries Secretary General CLEPA
Koen Coppenholle – Chief Executive CEMBUREAU
Dirk Vantyghem – Director General EURATEX
Kristian Ruby – Secretary General eurelectric
Guy Thiran – Director General Eurometaux
Mella Frewen – Director General FoodDrinkEurope
John Cooper – Director General FuelsEurope
Malte Lohan – Director General Orgalim – Europe’s Technology Industries

Download the pdf